The monument
Departure for a New World
 

Their names and fates shall be remembered and not forgotten. The Nordfriisk Instituut has erected a monument named "Departure for a New World" to honour these men, women and children.

The sculpture - a symbolic rendering of departure and crossing the waters - is comprised of three pieces. In their artistic combination these elements offer to the spectator as he walks around the sculpture from each side different views and insights according to his individual understanding. The names of emigrants from North Frisia will be engraved on the base of this monument to show that every "great emigration wave" consists of individuals and individual destinies.

The Nordfriisk Instituut allows anyone to pass on to future generations his own name or honour family members with a permanent inscription on the monument "Departure for a New World" - the names engraved there serving as a reminder for the living and are preserved for the future.

Why not take this unique opportunity and secure yourself a place on the monument to honour your ancestors or family members who have emigrated overseas ?

The inscribed names will represent the many, whose destinies will remain untold. They are, in fact, representatives of a major chapter in North Frisian and European history. Besides immortalizing the names of your ancestors and family members, your donation will help to support the activities of the North Frisian Emigrant-Archive.

inscription on the monument

Das Denkmal
Aufbruch in eine Neue Welt
 

Damit die Namen und Schicksale dieser Männer, Frauen und Kinder nicht in Vergessenheit geraten, setzt das Nordfriisk Instituut in Bredstedt ihnen mit der Skulptur "Aufbruch in eine Neue Welt" ein Denkmal.

Drei Elemente bilden die symbolische Darstellung des Aufbruchs und der Überfahrt. In ihrer künstlerischen Verbindung ermöglichen sie dem Betrachter von jeder Seite individuell unterschiedliche Ansichten und Einsichten. Auf dem Sockel dieses Denkmals werden die Namen von Auswanderern aus Nordfriesland eingraviert, um sichtbar zu machen, daß jeder "Auswandererstrom" aus einer Vielzahl von Einzelschicksalen besteht.

Hier gibt das Nordfriisk Instituut jedem die Möglichkeit, das Andenken an ausgewanderte Verwandte und Freunde oder auch an die eigene Auswanderung in würdiger Form dauerhaft zu bewahren - als Erinnerung für die Gegenwart und festgehalten für die Zukunft.

Nutzen Sie diese Gelegenheit, Ihren ausgewanderten Vorfahren und Familienmitgliedern einen Platz auf dem Denkmal zu sichern!

Stellvertretend für die Vielen, deren Schicksal verborgen bleibt, werden ihre Namen an dieses große Kapitel unserer Geschichte erinnern. Mit Ihrem Beitrag unterstützen Sie gleichzeitig die Arbeit des Nordfriesischen Auswanderer-Archivs.



Antrag für einen Namenseintrag

Liste der Spender

Liste der eingetragenen Auswanderer